Advertise with the BND

May 14, 2012 

Thank you for your interest in advertising with the Belleville News-Democrat and www.bnd.com, southwestern Illinois’ leading daily news source.

Since 1858, the BND has provided readers with local content not found anywhere else. Its core market includes St. Clair and Madison counties, along with parts of Clinton, Monroe, Randolph, Washington and Bond counties. The BND is the #1 source for local news, sports and entertainment in the St. Louis metro east.

Readership of the BND and bnd.com has grown in the past two years. In a recent readership study conducted by Clark, Martire & Bartolomeo, Inc. in October, 2011, and audited by the Audit Bureau of Circulations (ABC), the BND averaged a net combined audience (print and online) of 81% of the adults in its market, or more than 200,000 readers over the past 30 days, up from 75% in 2009.

Additional highlights of the 2011 readership study:

  • The BND is regarded as the single most useful ad source overall -- ahead of all other local media.
  • Readership of the BND and bnd.com has increased across the board -- weekday, Saturday and Sunday.
  • 99% of readers “in the market” for a job used the BND classifieds, in print and online
  • 94% of readers “in the market” for an automobile used the BND classifieds, in print and online
  • 97% of readers “in the market” for a home used the BND print and online real estate listings

ADVERTISING RATES AND CONTACTS

Classified

Classified "Private Party" liner ads: Small, text-only ads placed by individuals, not businesses. Yard sales, cars and other items for sale, homes for sale by owner. These ads must be prepaid by credit card or at the BND office by check or cash. Contact: Julie Ambry, Classified Supervisor at 618-239-2623 or jambry@bnd.com.

Help-wanted ads placed by businesses. Contact: Sharon Peterson, Recruitment Account Executive at 618-239-2478

Display ads for Automotive: Larger ads normally placed by businesses. Contact: Brenda Fedak, Classified Manager at 618-239-2550 or bfedak@bnd.com

Display ads for Real Estate: Larger ads normally placed by businesses. Contact: Cathy White, Real Estate Manager at 618-239-2532 or cwhite@bnd.com

Retail

Local Retail Advertising: Display ads placed by businesses, political and nonprofit groups based in the Metro East.

Contact: Melissa Mason, Vice President of Advertising at 618-239-2541 or mmason@bnd.com

National Retail Advertising

National Retail Advertising: Display ads placed by businesses and ad agencies located outside the BND's area of circulation.

Contact: Cathy White, National Sales Manager at 618-239-2532 orcwhite@bnd.com

Online

Internet Advertising, including banner ads, search engine marketing and Yahoo! advertising.

Contact: Brenda Fedak, Online Manager at 618-239-2550 or bfedak@bnd.com

Free-Standing Inserts & Front Page Notes

Insert rates, acceptable sizes, zoning options, quantities and scheduling.

Contact: Melissa Mason, Vice President of Advertising at 618-239-2541 or mmason@bnd.com

Magazines

Lipstik, Abode, Adult Lifestyle and Everyman magazines are targeted to niche audiences and distributed in the BND to home-delivery subscribers.

For more information, Contact: Patti Klepac, Niche Publications Manager at 618-239-2572 or pklepac@bnd.com

Vendor Support Sections

To promote a business or organization's grand opening, anniversary, open house or move.

Contact: Marsha Hopkins, Sales Manager at 618-239-2608 or mhopkins@bnd.com

Weekly Publications

Display ads for O'Fallon Progress, Command Post (serving Scott Air Force Base) and Highland News-Leader.

Contact: Todd Eschman, Group Manager at 618-239-2540 or teschman@bnd.com.