Anderson Hospital awards 10 scholarships to metro-east students

News-DemocratAugust 13, 2013 

Medical staff at Anderson Hospital in Maryville awarded 10 area students with $1,000 scholarships.

The scholarship recipients were: Erin Pugh, of O'Fallon; Lindsey Greeling, of Troy; Abigail Sowash, of Highland; Gwen Lawson, of Maryville; Katie Groth, of Edwardsville; Stephanie Becker, of Staunton; Gwen Snell, of Edwardsville; Alexia Overton, of Belleville; Jamie Seiffert, of Edwardsville; and Michael Sly, of Edwardsville.

The scholarship program was created in 2004 by the Medical Staff Executive Committee to promote advanced education in health careers.

"We hope these talented students will come back to the area to practice once they've graduated," said Dr. Michael Mulligan, president of the Anderson Hospital medical staff.


Six metro-east high schools were honored with Bronze Emblem Awards for fiscal year 2013 from U.S. News and World Report Magazine. The schools were: Marissa Junior Senior High School, Coulterville, Lebanon, Mascoutah, O'Fallon and Edwardsville high schools.


The Career Center of Southern Illinois in Red Bud originally had scheduled a ribbon-cutting ceremony for Thursday. However, a delay in the completion of several remodeling projects forced the date to be postponed to 2 p.m. Sept. 27. The center, formerly known as the Beck Area Career Center, offers welding, automotive and nursing programs. It serves full-day high school, vocational and adult students.


East St. Louis School District 189 is holding its freshmen orientation called Ninth Grade JumpStart to Success from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Aug. 20-21 at the Wyvetter Young 9th Grade Center, at 3939 Caseyville Ave. in East St. Louis.

High school orientation, which includes former Curtis Miller and James Williams students, will be held from 9 a.m. to noon Aug. 22 at East St. Louis Sr. High School, at 4901 State St. in East St. Louis. For more information, contact Latesha Clemons or Darnell Spencer at 618-646-3700 or or


The music department at Belle Valley School will perform "Take Me Out to the Ball Game" on Aug. 28 at a St. Louis Cardinals game. Game tickets may be purchased through the school office on a first come, first serve basis. Students in the fourth through eighth grade for the 2013-14 school year are able to perform.


Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs Narbeth Emmanuel named Kelly Jo Karnes as the new director of student involvement. Karnes succeeds long-time director Steve Sperotto, who retired at the end of the 2013 spring semester. She assumed her new role effective July 1.

Karnes is responsible for directing the Kimmel Leadership Center, which provides development, implementation, monitoring, and evaluation of comprehensive educational, co-curricular and support services. She will supervise more than 200 student organizations. She also is responsible for advising and mentoring students, faculty and staff for the purpose of improving and enhancing campus life.


The Southwestern Illinois College Culinary Arts and Food Management program recently received renewal of critical accreditation. The American Culinary Federation Education Foundation Accrediting Commission extended accreditation of the associate in applied science degree in Culinary Arts and Food Management through June 1, 2015. SWIC first was accredited by the American Culinary Federation in 1998.

Do you have an item for Education Matters or an education-related story tip? We want to know about it. Send your ideas to Jamie Forsythe at or call 618-239-2562. Follow her on Twitter at

Belleville News-Democrat is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service