Voigt collects Late Model win at Belle-Clair

News-DemocratAugust 30, 2013 

Mark Voigt won the UMP Late Model feature race last Friday as stock car racing returned to Belle-Clair Speedway in Belleville on MegaKids Night.

The 25-lap feature began with Mike Schulte and Rick Standridge on the front row. With the green light on, Standridge would jump to the lead with Schulte, Voigt, Michael Kloos and Daryn Klein giving chase.

Standridge would hold the lead for four laps before Voigt would take control. There would only be a few cautions to slow this race as Voigt would eventually be chased by Kloos for the win.

Voigt would take the win followed by Kloos, Schulte, Klein and Mike Hammerle.

Brian Bielong won a wild UMP Modifieds feature, outdueling Matt Mevert for the win. Jon Ripperda won the UMP Sportsman feature.

Belle-Clair Speedway will host the World of Outlaws Photobilly 50 on Sept. 13. Late Models will be running for $10,000 to win and $1,200 to start and UMP Modifieds are running for $1,000 to win.

Reserved Tickets are on sale for $35 at www.worldofoutlaws.com or by calling Dorothy at 636-448-3477. General admission tickets are $30 and children 12-under are free. Hot laps at 6:30 p.m. with racing at 7 p.m.

Tri-City Speedway

Friday night is Fan Appreciation Night at Tri-City Speedway in Pontoon Beach, featuring half-price admission, a kids bike race and a kids nickel race. There will be more than 50 children's bikes given out.

On Sunday, the track will hold DIRTcar Racing's "Takin It To The Streets" featuring $3,000 to win for UMP Street Stocks, $1,000 to win for UMP 4-Cylinders, $700 to win for UMP Modifieds and $500 to win for UMP Pro Crate Late Models.

Gates open at 6 p.m. both nights with hot laps at 7 p.m. and racing at 7:30.

Federated Auto Parts Raceway

Jason Feger won $5,000 last Saturday by running down first place in the UMP/Midwest Auto Racing Series (MARS) for Late Models at Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 in Pevely, Mo.

Bobby Pierce was second, followed by Randy Korte, Wendell Wallace and Billy Moyer.

Matt Mevert won the UMP Modified feature.

POWRi Racing

Zach Daum started from pole and was never seriously challenged for the lead in winning the Jason Leffler Memorial in a POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series feature before an overflow crowd Wednesday at Wayne County Speedway.

Items for the Local Auto Racing Notebook are compiled from area track websites and local racing enthusiasts. If you have local racing story ideas, news items or photographs of races to submit to us, send an email to pkuhl@bnd.com.

Belleville News-Democrat is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service