Local educators to receive awards

October 18, 2013 

State education officials will honor more than 180 of Illinois' outstanding educators Saturday at the 39th annual Those Who Excel/Teacher of the Year banquet in Normal. Local educators who will be recognized with awards include:

St. Clair County

* Mary Ellen Gravlin, Award of Recognition, student support personnel, O'Fallon Township High School District 203

* Tiffany Niedringhaus, Award of Merit, classroom teacher, O'Fallon Township High School District 203

* Jekyel Schulz, Award of Recognition, classroom teacher, Freeburg School District 70

* Martha Warren, Award of Merit, classroom teacher, East St. Louis School District 189

* Martha Young, Award of Excellence, community volunteer, East St. Louis School District 189

Madison County

* Scot Ambuel, Award of Excellence, student support personnel, Edwardsville Community Unit School District 7

* Liberty Middle School Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Award of Merit, team, Edwardsville District 7

* Susan Miller, Award of Recognition, educational service personnel, Edwardsville District 7

* Katie Moore, Award of Merit, student support personnel, Triad Community District Unit 2

* Cindy Steele, Award of Merit, administrator, Edwardsville District 7

Belleville News-Democrat is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service