How they got here: Cards and Red Sox on the way to the Series

Associated PressOctober 22, 2013 

The St. Louis Cardinals and Boston Red Sox have taken similar paths this postseason to the World Series:

St. Louis' postseason run:

National League Division Series

St. Louis 3, Pittsburgh 2

Thursday, Oct. 3: St. Louis 9, Pittsburgh 1

Friday, Oct. 4: Pittsburgh 7, St. Louis 1

Sunday, Oct. 6: Pittsburgh 5, St. Louis 3

Monday, Oct. 7: St. Louis 2, Pittsburgh 1

Wednesday Oct. 9: St. Louis 6, Pittsburgh 1

National League Championship Series

St. Louis 4, Los Angeles 2

Friday, Oct. 11: St. Louis 3, Los Angeles 2, 13 innings

Saturday, Oct. 12: St. Louis 1, Los Angeles 0

Monday, Oct. 14: Los Angeles 3, St. Louis 0

Tuesday, Oct. 15: St. Louis 4, Los Angeles 2

Wednesday, Oct. 16: Los Angeles 6, St. Louis 4

Friday, Oct. 18: St. Louis 9, Los Angeles 0

***

Boston's postseason run:

American League Division Series

Boston 3, Tampa Bay 1

Friday, Oct. 4: Boston 12, Tampa Bay 2

Saturday, Oct. 5: Boston 7, Tampa Bay 4

Monday, Oct. 7: Tampa Bay 5, Boston 4

Tuesday, Oct. 8: Boston 3, Tampa Bay 1

American League Championship Series

Boston 4, Detroit 2

Saturday, Oct. 12: Detroit 1, Boston 0

Sunday, Oct. 13: Boston 6, Detroit 5

Tuesday, Oct. 15: Boston 1, Detroit 0

Wednesday, Oct. 16: Detroit 7, Boston 3

Thursday, Oct. 17: Boston 4, Detroit 3

Saturday, Oct. 19: Boston 5, Detroit 2

***

WORLD SERIES

(Best-of-7; x-if necessary)

All games televised by Fox

St. Louis vs. Boston

Wednesday, Oct. 23: St. Louis (Wainwright 19-9) at Boston (Lester 15-8), 7:07 p.m.

Thursday, Oct. 24: St. Louis (Wacha 4-1) at Boston (Lackey 10-13), 7:07 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 26: Boston (Buchholz 12-1) at St. Louis (Kelly 10-5), 7:07 p.m.

Sunday, Oct. 27: Boston (Peavy 12-5) at St. Louis (Lynn 15-10), 7:15 p.m.

x-Monday, Oct. 28: Boston at St. Louis, 7:07 p.m.

x-Wednesday, Oct. 30: St. Louis at Boston, 7:07 p.m.

x-Thursday, Oct. 31: St. Louis at Boston, 7:07 p.m.

Belleville News-Democrat is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service