Emerson Excellence in Teaching Award winners

News-DemocratNovember 9, 2013 

St. Clair County

Mary Lu Arterburn-Haas, Belle Valley School in Belleville

Jill Kraft, Franklin Elementary in Belleville

Ida Buckels, Lovejoy School in Brooklyn

Megan Leonard, Joseph Arthur Middle School in O'Fallon

Christy Gundlach, Althoff Catholic High School in Belleville

Deborah Brimm, Bluffview Elementary School in Dupo

Natalie Wesbecher, Freeburg Community High School

Christy Lutz, Illini Elementary in Fairview Heights

Lauren Fiss, Emge Junior High School in Belleville

Tonna Smith, High Mount School in Swansea

Rebecca Fiss, Bernard Long Elementary School in Madison

Pressley Piner, Mascoutah High School

Heather Phillips, Millstadt Consolidated School

Kathleen Ashby Ontiveros, O'Fallon Township High School

Debbie Hargrove, LaVerna Evans School in O'Fallon

Renette Jackson, William Holliday Elementary in Fairview Heights

Cristal Faust, Shiloh Middle School

April Becherer, Signal Hill School in Belleville

Crista Schafer, Whiteside Middle School in Belleville

Jo Kassebaum, Wolf Branch Elementary School in Swansea

Vicki Snell, Lewis & Clark Community College in Godfrey

Brenda Doll, McKendree University in Lebanon

Matthew Swinford, Southwestern Illinois College in Belleville

Marissa Elementary School teacher Denise Rushing, who died June 22, is being honored posthumously.

Madison County

Sandra Henderson, Leclaire Elementary School in Edwardsville

Shirley Bellm, Highland Middle School

Timothy Jarden, Alton Middle School

Jeni Timmins, East Alton-Wood River High School

Corby Gates, Central Elementary in Roxana

Chris Schomber, Silver Creek Elementary in Troy

Tiffany Falk, Lewis and Clark Junior High School in Wood River

Kay Gaehle, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

Belleville News-Democrat is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service