Cardinals nominees for the team Hall of Fame

News-DemocratMarch 5, 2014 

Here are the eight former players nominated for two spots in the St. Louis Cardinals Hall of Fame, with fan voting from March 7-22 at Enshrinement will be Aug. 16 at the Hall of Fame in Ballpark Village:

Their career highlights

* Jim Edmonds (#EdmondsHOF)

.285 average, 241 home runs, 713 RBIs

* Bob Forsch (#ForschHOF)

163-127, 3.67 ERA, 1079 strikeouts

15 seasons with Cardinals

* Keith Hernandez (#HernandezHOF)

.299 average, 265 doubles

10 seasons with Cardinals

* Willie McGee (#McGeeHOF)

.294 average, 301 stolen bases

13 seasons with Cardinals

* Mark McGwire (#McGwireHOF)

220 HR, 473 RBIs, 1.111 OPS

Five seasons with Cardinals

* Matt Morris (#MorrisHOF)

101-62, 3.61 ERA, 986 strikeouts

Nine seasons with Cardinals

* Ted Simmons (#SimmonsHOF)

.298 average, 172 HR, 929 RBIs

13 seasons with Cardinals

* Joe Torre (#TorreHOF)

.308 average, 558 RBIs

Six seassons with Cardinals

The inaugural class of inductees -- Baseball Hall of Famers or those whose numbers have been retired by the Cardinals -- include these 22 men:

Jim Bottomley, Ken Boyer, Lou Brock, Jack Buck, August A. "Gussie" Busch Jr., Dizzy Dean, Frank Frisch, Bob Gibson, Chick Hafey, Jesse Haines, Whitey Herzog, Rogers Hornsby, Tony La Russa, Joe Medwick, Johnny Mize, Stan Musial, Branch Rickey, Red Schoendienst, Enos Slaughter, Ozzie Smith, Billy Southworth and Bruce Sutter.

Those 22 men, a "veterans" inductee chosen by a Red Ribbon committee of Cardinals baseball experts, and the two players chosen by the fans, will be inducted in mid-August at the Hall of Fame, which occupies 8,000 square feet of the new Ballpark Village under construction just north of Busch Stadium.

The Red Ribbon panel choosing the Hall of Fame nominees for 2014 include:

Tom Ackerman, Frank Cusumano, Derrick Goold, Rick Hummel, Randy Karraker, Martin Kilcoyne, Jenifer Langosch, Tony La Russa, Bernie Miklasz, Joe Ostermeier, Rob Rains, Red Schoendienst, Joe Strauss and Brian Walton.

The fan voting is presented by Edward Jones (#CardsHOF).

Belleville News-Democrat is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service