Little takes Late Models race at Belle-Clair

News-DemocratMay 30, 2014 

Ryan Little finished ahead of Michael Kloos and Rick Salter last Friday to win the UMP Late Models feature race at Belle-Clair Speedway in Belleville.

Rusty Griffaw won the UMP Modifieds main event and Marc McClintock was the Pure Stocks winner. The Boss Chassis Micro Sprints winner was Carlee Gress.

Friday night is the Carl's 4-Wheel Drive & Performance Center "Rally on Race Night." The first 250 paid spectators receive a free Carl's coolie cup and race t-shirts and attendance prizes will be awarded all night long.

Race winners will receive Carl's gift certificates. There also will be a raffle to benefit Special Olympics Illinois.

Tri-City Speedway

The Bud 40 paying $5,000 to win for UMP Late Models has been rescheduled for Friday night at Tri-City Speedway in Pontoon Beach.

Tri-City feature winners from last week include Randy Korte (UMP Late Models), Ray Walsh (UMP Modifieds), Kolby Vandenbergh (UMP Pro Crate Late Models), Matt Hancock (Street Stocks), and Travis Bittle from New Athens (Factory Stock 4-Cylinder/UMP Sport Compacts).

Highland Speedway

Oberbeck Grain Company will present Hard Charger Night with extra bonus money on Saturday at Highland Speedway. All classes will be running.

Federated Auto Parts Raceway

The MARS DIRTcar Series and the top drivers from the UMP DIRTcar Series will hook up Saturday in the Talker Guy 5K Challenge with $5,000 to the winner at Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 in Pevely, Mo.

There also is a $1,000 to win UMP DIRTcar Modifieds race, $400 to win UMP DIRTcar/AARA Sportsman and other events.

Drivers expected to compete include MARS points leader and defending champ Tony Jackson Jr., 2012 MARS champ Jesse Stovall, Shannon Babb, Brian Shirley, Tanner English, Jeff Johns, Michael Kloos and many more.

Last week, Paul May picked up a $2,000 check for a dominant performance during the Midwest Open Wheel Association Sprint Car Series event at Federated.

May won ever race he entered, including the heat, the fast dash and the feature.

Other winners last week included Brandon Sheppard, Michael Long and Trey Harris.

Belleville News-Democrat is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service