MacKinnon, Palat headline All-Rookie team

The Sports NetworkJune 24, 2014 

Las Vegas, NV ( - Calder Trophy winner Nathan MacKinnon of the Colorado Avalanche and Ondrej Palat of the Tampa Bay Lightning headlined the NHL's All-Rookie Team for the 2013-14 season.

Joining the duo were defensemen Torey Krug of the Boston Bruins and Hampus Lindholm of the Anaheim Ducks, forward Tyler Johnson of the Lightning, and goaltender Frederik Andersen of the Ducks.

Players were chosen in voting by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association.

MacKinnon led all first-year players with 63 points and 39 assists, while tying for the top spot with 24 goals, en route to being the youngest player in league history to win the Calder.

Andersen went 20-5-0 with a 2.29 goals-against average and .923 save percentage in 28 appearances in the regular season. He topped all rookie goaltenders in wins, goals-against average and save percentage.

Krug led all first-year defensemen with 14 goals, 26 assists and 40 points in 79 games, while Lindholm had six goals and 24 helpers in 78 contests.

Johnson established a Tampa Bay rookie mark with 24 goals and tied for the overall NHL lead in short-handed goals with five.

Palat ended the year ranked second among rookie scorers with 23 goals and 36 assists. That was three points shy of Brad Richards' Lightning rookie record of 62 points in 2000-01.

Belleville News-Democrat is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service