Metro-East News

May 22, 2014

State police recognize troopers of the year

Illinois State Trooper Kenneth Patterson was responsible last year for seizures of more than $1.5 million in cash, 90 pounds of marijuana, more than 2100 grams of methamphetamine and more than 500 cartons of cigarettes.

Between the drug-related seizures, Patterson also issued 257 traffic citations, assisted 107 motorists and handled 90 crashes.

Major Christopher Trame recognized Patterson's work with the District 11 Officer of the Year award on Thursday.

Trame also recognized Special Agent Elbert Jennings, who worked closely with community leaders and churches. Last year, Jennings' work led to five arrests in the 11 cases he was assigned. Jennings is Officer of the Year for Zone 6 because of his "excellent work ethic and service to area communities."

Other ISP officers recognized Thursday were Trooper Shaun Dannenbrink for 36 DUI arrests and 65 alcohol arrests, Trooper Erik Schank for occupant restraint violations and Trooper Jarrod Leckrone for 593 speeding arrests.

Related content


Editor's Choice Videos