May 27, 2014

Three area students create winning bookmark designs

Three area grade school students were recently honored for their winning entries in the second annual Madison County Clean Air Bookmark Contest.

Kindergarten through sixth-grade students in all Madison County schools were encouraged to create bookmark designs to illustrate ways to improve air quality. Entries were received from 757 students -- an increase of more than 460 students from the previous year.

The kindergarten through second-grade winner was Norah Matthews, a student at Hamel Elementary in Edwardsville. Libby Telthorst of St. John Neumann Catholic School in Maryville was the winner in the third-and-fourth grade category, and Felicity Guttmann of Columbus Elementary in Edwardsvillle captured the prize for fifth- and-sixth graders.

Each winner received a certificate and a high-definition Kindle Fire tablet from the Madison County Planning and Development Department. The winning designs will be featured on thousands of bookmarks printed and distributed to all elementary school students through the school libraries.


Three Illinois schools have been named winners of the "Home Run for Character" service learning recognition program sponsored by GCS Credit Union. The winning schools were Belle Valley School District 119 in Belleville, Emge Junior High School in Belleville and Greenville High School.

The winning schools will each receive banners they can display that celebrate their dedication to good character and service learning. Every student and staff member at these schools will also receive a free ticket to attend the Gateway Grizzlies game on June 17.

GCS Credit Union, in partnership with the Gateway Grizzlies and CharacterPlus, sponsors the program for Madison and St. Clair County public and private schools. The winning schools made academic connections to real community needs and have integrated student leadership and reflection into their academic programs.


The Illinois State Board of Education is now taking applications from eligible high school students interested in serving on the state agency's Student Advisory Council for the 2014-15 school year. Students attending a public high school in Illinois who are entering the fall semester as a sophomore, junior or senior are eligible to apply.

The deadline to submit an application for the 2014-15 Student Advisory Council is 5 p.m. Friday. Interviews will be scheduled in July for those applicants chosen as possible members. For more information, contact Vince Camille at 217-782-3007 or


The annual scholarships from Granite City-based Gateway Regional Medical Center Auxiliary were awarded at the general membership meeting on May 19. The scholarships valued at $1,200 are awarded to study in a medically-related field at an accredited college or university.

Scholarship recipients for 2014-2015 are: Brooke LeVault, University of Missouri-St. Louis; Ryan Roberts, Chamberlin School of Nursing; Nicole Bernaix, Lewis-Clark College; Kaylin James, University of Wisconsin; Dylan Perkins, St. Louis College of Pharmacy; Drew Haugen, University of St. Louis-Missouri; Dana Rozell, University of Missouri-St. Louis; Jessica Stroder, Southwest Illinois College Belleville; and Zachary Greenemay, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville.


Forty-nine students from kindergarten to high school earned top honors at East St. Louis District 189's districtwide science fair, which was held May 14 at East St. Louis Sr. High School. Each school previously held its own science fair and selected four winners who competed for the district-wide fair. The top winners received awards, and all students who participated received certificates of appreciation.


Students from Saints Peter and Paul Catholic School in Waterloo participated in the district 5D Illinois Grade School Music Association District Solo and Ensemble Contest held earlier this month at Triad Middle School in St. Jacob.

The following students received a First rating at the contest: Allen Kraus, flute solo; Alex Piontek, snare drum solo; Colleen Lance, vocal solo; Alaina Henry and Joe Busch, flute/trumpet duet; and Mandy Kraus and Sierra Mertz, snare drum duet. The band is directed by Mike Sladek.


Scott Elementary School teachers Joe Ballard and Mical Barnes were recently recognized by the American Heart Association for their work on the Jump Rope for Heart fundraiser. More than $26,000 was raised, which places the school 47th in the nation of over 35,000 schools that participated. In the past five years, Scott Elementary has raised more than $66,000 during Jump Rope for Heart.


Home Federal Savings and Loan has awarded Collinsville High School seniors Sabrina Flohr and Graydon Baima with $500 college scholarships as local winners in the Community Bankers Association of Illinois Foundation scholarship essay competition. The essays, which focused on the role of community banks in their service areas, were judged by students and faculty in the Communications Department at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville.

Do you have an item for Education Matters or an education-related story tip? We want to know about it. Send your ideas to Jamie Forsythe at or call 618-239-2562. Follow her on Twitter at @BND_JForsythe.

Related content



Editor's Choice Videos