June 5, 2014

SIUE psychology department honored with national award

The Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Department of Psychology is the recipient of the American Psychological Association Departmental Award for Culture of Service in the Psychological Sciences.

"For our department's service activity to be nationally recognized by our discipline's flagship organization is truly gratifying and exciting," said Paul Rose, associate professor and chair of the department of psychology within SIUE's School of Education.

The APA will provide a formal citation along with a $5,000 award. The APA is the largest scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States.


Lindenwood University System President James Evans has announced his retirement effective May 31, 2015.

Evans, 67, said the early notice provides the board of directors ample time to conduct a thorough mission-based search for the next president. Lindenwood University Board Chair Jim Shoemake said he had appointed a search committee, which was moving forward in a diligent and systematic manner.

Evans assumed his current role in 2006, but he has been a part of the Lindenwood community for 40 years. He was integral in ushering in Lindenwood's first doctoral program, a doctor of education degree, and he was the driving force behind the creation of a day college in Belleville.


Belleville native Nathan Schaumleffel was awarded the 2014 Faculty Distinguished Service Award from Indiana State University's Center for Community Engagement.

Schaumleffel is an associate professor in the department of kinesiology, recreation and sport and executive director of Indiana State's Nonprofit Leadership Alliance Certification Program.

Schaumleffel is a 1994 graduate of Belleville West High School, and he graduated from Southwestern Illinois College in 1996.


Erica Wunderlich Majumder, a doctorate student in chemistry at Washington University in St. Louis, is one of 85 doctoral students nationwide selected to receive a $15,000 Scholar Award from the P.E.O. Sisterhood. She was sponsored by Chapter GM of Belleville.

Erica is the daughter of Christian and Cynthia Wunderlich of Kirkwood, Mo., and the spouse of Kinjal Majumder of Richmond Heights, Mo. She is a 2010 graduate of Drury University where she earned her bachelor's in chemistry.

The P.E.O. Scholar Awards was established in 1991 to provide substantial merit-based awards for women of the United States and Canada who are pursuing a doctoral level degree at an accredited college or university.

The P.E.O. Sisterhood is a philanthropic educational organization interested in bringing increased opportunities for higher education to women.


Three Southern Illinois University Edwardsville construction management students are recipients of Associated General Contractors Education and Research Foundation scholarships.

Senior Michael Gagnon from Glen Carbon has received the Textura Scholarship. Senior Jared Kraus from Freeburg was awarded the Byron and Janice Farrell Scholarship. Senior Derek Casey from Newton was awarded the Richard and Roxelyn Pepper Scholarship.

Casey, Gagnon and Kraus were among four Illinois students to earn AGC Foundation scholarships this year. The $2,500 annual scholarships can be renewed for up to three years.

Related content



Editor's Choice Videos