July 3, 2014

Metro-east organizations award scholarships to local students

The East St. Louis Alumnae Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. recently awarded $11,000 in scholarships to 10 area high school students.

The 2014 Alpha Kappa Alpha scholarship recipients were: Christianna Belt, Belleville East High School; Khandice Lofton, Belleville West High School; Aza Walker, East St. Louis Senior High School; DeMarco Jackson, East St. Louis; Taylor Luster, SIUE Charter High School; Danielle Bellmon, East St. Louis; Dennis Jackson II, Althoff Catholic High School; Myiah Mackins, Belleville East; Aaliyah Dent, Cahokia High School; and Jaylen Henderson, Pattonville High School.

The organization also recognized 16 middle and elementary students from the East St. Louis area who were nominated for Guidance Awards based upon their character, honesty, school attendance and ability to work well with others.

The 2014 Service to Mankind Award winners were Phillip Leatherman and Raven Spears, James Avant Elementary School; Tyrese Meeks and Deonna Kizer, Gordon Bush Elementary School; Javonte Spearman and Jerrica Jackson, Katie Wright Elementary School; Robert Forest and Kemoni Rose, Officer Elementary School; Amarion Smith and Kayla Allen, Paul Lawrence Dunbar Elementary School; Leroy Perry and Ariell Watson, Unity Lutheran School; Montez Holton and Amber Armstrong, Lincoln Middle School; and Christopher Smith and Lyric Green, Mason Clark Middle School.

The 2014 Miss Fashionetta Scholarship winners were Cara Brooks, Miss Fashionetta 2014, Althoff; Karmen Haywood, first runner-up, SIUE Charter; and Jordyn Johnson, second runner-up, O'Fallon Township High School.


Belleville Elks Lodge 481 recognized 20 area students at the annual scholars night last month. Through the lodge, more than $34,000 in scholarships was awarded.

This year's top local Illinois Elks District winners were Joseph Huelskamp from Belleville, who will attend Southern Illinois University Edwardsville; and Aaron Puntriano from Red Bud who will attend Illinois State University.

The lodge also recognized 13 physical therapy/occupational therapy majors: Jacqueline Bassler, Belleville; Natalie Gass, Belleville; Jennifer Heet, Columbia; Nicole Jenks, Belleville; Nicole Kaltwasser, Belleville; Sam Klosterman, Belleville; Kristin Lanxon, Belleville; Hana Michael, Collinsville; Bradley Morr, Columbia; Alyssa Pellmann, Millstadt; Kristin Rein, Columbia; Amanda Rzepczynski, Columbia; and Christy Wafer, Belleville.

Belleville Lodge Anton Schmid awardees included Anna Ache, Swansea; Rachel Beyersdorfer, Belleville; Sarah Geolet, Belleville; Brandon Herling, Belleville; Ryan Ord, Swansea; and Claire Reeves, Swansea.

Application for the 2015 scholarships will be available Sept. 1 at


The medical staff at Anderson Hospital in Maryville awarded five area students with $1,000 scholarships. The scholarship recipients for 2014 were: Karen Bertels, Edwardsville; Jessica Rimkus, Edwardsville; Kaitlyn Korte, Collinsville; Chase Kern, Collinsville; and Jasmine Giannuzzi, Edwardsville. The scholarship program was created in 2004 by the Medical Staff Executive Committee to promote advanced education in health careers.

Do you have an item for Education Matters or an education-related story tip? We want to know about it. Send your ideas to Jamie Forsythe at or call 618-239-2562. Follow her on Twitter at @BND_JForsythe.

Related content



Editor's Choice Videos