Metro-East News

Kern holds lead over Cook for St. Clair board chairman

Incumbent St. Clair County Board Chairman Mark Kern, a Democrat, left, was challenged by Republican Rodger Cook.
Incumbent St. Clair County Board Chairman Mark Kern, a Democrat, left, was challenged by Republican Rodger Cook.

In the race for St. Clair County Board chairman, three-term incumbent Mark Kern, a Democrat, held a roughly 7,800-vote lead over Republican challenger Rodger Cook, as of midnight Wednesday.

This is the second time Kern and Cook have faced each other in an election. Kern defeated Cook in the 1997 Belleville mayoral race.

With 209 out of 216 precincts reporting:

Kern: 60,635 votes

Cook: 52,836 votes

There are 191 precincts under the jurisdiction of the St. Clair County Clerk’s office; 25 precincts under the East St. Louis Board of Elections Commissioners. Vote-by-mail ballots postmarked by Tuesday that have yet to arrive still need to be counted.

Kern, 52, who is seeking a fourth term, mostly self-funded his campaign, has pushed his message of area infrastructure and levee upgrades, and the importance of MidAmerica Airport to Scott Air Force Base.

Cook, a member of the St. Clair County Freedom Coalition, had called for increased law enforcement and touted his record as Belleville mayor for one term.

Also on the ballot in St. Clair County

St. Clair County Coroner’s race:

Democrat Calvin Dye Sr.: 63,285 votes

Republican Carl Officer: 48,055 votes

St. Clair County Circuit Clerk race:

Democratic incumbent Kahalah Clay: 56,874

Republican, and Belleville City Clerk, Dallas Cook: 55,168

St. Clair County Auditor race:

Democratic incumbent Patty Sprague: 51,912

Republican, and former Cahokia mayor, Gary Cornwell: 50,119

St. Clair County Recorder’s race:

Longtime incumbent Michael T. Costello, a Democrat: 52,831

Republican Amanda Ruocco, who has never held elected office before: 49,735

St. Clair County Board of Review

Democrat Angela Grossman-Roewe: 49,732

Republican Ed Cockrell: 51,998

St. Clair County State’s Attorney Brendan Kelly also was on the ballot for another term as the county’s top prosecutor. He was unopposed.

St. Clair County Board races

County Board Members Lonnie Mosley in District 5, Roy Mosley, Jr. in District 6, both Democrats, and John West, a Republican, in District 15 were unopposed in their re-election bids.

Republican Bryan Bingel was unopposed in his bid to become the District 7 County Board member.

Democrats Ken Easterley, in District 8, and Carol Clark in District 29, both faced write-in challenges, but held large leads as vote totals came in on Tuesday.

District 2

Joan McIntosh, Democrat: 967

Elton Thomas, Republican: 163

District 4

S. Gene Rhoden, Democrat: 1,415

Nick Miller, Republican: 2,466

District 9

C. Richard Vernier, Democrat: 2,450

LaKeisha D. Coleman, Republican: 1,285

District 10

Dixie Seibert, Democrat: 2,149

Lester Byrd, Republican: 1,636

District 11

Jerry Dinges, Democrat: 2,047

Nicholas Joseph Wiesbrock, Republican: 1,375

District 14

Bob Trentman, Democrat: 2,625

Mark Alan Kern, Republican: 1,212

District 16

June Chartrand, Democrat: 865

David Langford, Republican: 575

District 17

Steven Gomric, Democrat: 2,380

Ryan Stookey, Republican: 2,011

District 19

Jana Armstrong Moll, Democrat: 1,194

C. David Tiedemann, Republican: 1,385

District 20

Mike Baker, Democrat: 1,575

Kevin Dawson, Republican: 2,899

District 22

Kirk Caponi, Democrat: 2,014

Michael O’Donnell, Republican: 3,080

District 24

Marty Crawford, Democrat: 2,169

Jason Madlock, Republican: 698

District 25

James Haywood, Democrat: 2,276

Ron Gerlach, Republican: 729

District 26

Scott Tieman, Democrat: 2,042

David Raynaud, Republican: 1,805