Highland News Leader

Southwestern Electric Cooperative’s 77th Annual Meeting slated for Sept. 12

Southwestern Electric Cooperative members and their families are invited to attend the co-op’s 77th Annual Meeting of Members, Saturday, Sept. 12 at Greenville Junior High School. Doors will open at 7 a.m., and breakfast will be served from 7 to 9:30 a.m. The cooperative’s business meeting will follow at 10 a.m.

Attendees will have the opportunity to learn about the co-op’s programs and services, speak with Southwestern Electric employees, and receive health screenings. The event offers a number of activities for children, including carnival games, a junior lineman challenge, and inflatable recreational equipment.

Active Southwestern Electric Cooperative account holders are encouraged to vote in the cooperative’s annual election. Each year, cooperative members elect one director from each of Southwestern’s three voting districts to a three-year term.

This year’s board candidates include:

▪ DISTRICT I (Macoupin, Madison, and St. Clair counties): Unopposed incumbent Alan Libbra.

▪ DISTRICT II (Bond, Clinton, and Montgomery counties): Unopposed incumbent Ron Schaufelberger.

▪ DISTRICT III (Clay, Fayette, Effingham, Marion, and Shelby counties): Incumbent Randy Wolf and challenger Larry Weger.

On Sept. 12, members may vote from 7 to 10 a.m. at the annual meeting venue and at Southwestern Electric’s facilities in Madison County, 10031 Ellis Road in St. Jacob, and Fayette County, 2117 E. 1850 Ave. in St. Elmo.

Absentee voting will be offered through Sept. 11 at the cooperative’s Greenville office, Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The Greenville office is located at 525 U.S. Highway 40.

Each active registered membership in attendance and/or voting in the board election will receive a $20 credit on their electric bill. Prize drawings, which will be held throughout the business meeting, will include bill credits of $100, $250 and $500, and one member will win a year of free electricity.

Additional information about Southwestern Electric Cooperative’s 77th Annual Meeting of Members appears in the August edition of The Southwestern, which serves as the official meeting notice and financial report for fiscal year 2014. Questions regarding the meeting may be directed to Susan File, the co-op’s vice president of member services, at susan.file@sweci.com or (800) 637-8667, ext. 5924.

Based in Greenville, Southwestern Electric is a not-for-profit, member-owned cooperative serving more than 22,000 residential, commercial, agricultural and industrial members in parts of Bond, Clay, Clinton, Fayette, Effingham, Macoupin, Madison, Marion, Montgomery, Shelby and St. Clair counties.