McKendree honors students, faculty, staff with awards

McKendree University in Lebanon recognized outstanding students, faculty and staff members with awards during its annual Honors Convocation held April 27 at the Hettenhausen Center for the Arts.

Maximilian Aviles, a senior international relations and Spanish double-major from San Bernardino, California, received the Technos International Prize for academic achievement and commitment to international understanding.

Dr. Guy Boysen, associate professor of psychology, received the 2017 Exemplary Teacher Award, given by the General Board of Higher Education and Ministry of The United Methodist Church.

Associate Faculty Awards for Excellence in Teaching were presented to part-time faculty members Lisa Brennan and Daphne Behrmann.

Two staff members received the President’s Award for Professional Excellence: Josie Blasdel, director of undergraduate admission; and Melissa Meeker, associate dean of online programs.

The following students were recognized for exceptional achievement within their respective areas:

College of Arts and Sciences

Divison of Computing

▪  Stacy Wilke, Belleville, computer information systems

▪  Madelaine Zinser, Mascoutah, computational science

▪  James Schoeneman, Perryville, Missouri, computer science

Center at Scott Air Force Base

▪  Joshua Daughtery, Troy, computer information systems

▪  Jeremiah Robillard, Scott Air Force Base, computer science

Division of Humanities

▪  Natalie Correll, Danvers, Illinois, English

▪  Alina Jeau Llanas, Oregon, Illinois, organizational communication

▪  Jackson MacLean, Lincoln, Nebraska, philosophy

▪  Sarah Goetze, Green Valley, Illinois, professional writing and rhetoric

▪  Victoria Day, Martinsville, Illinois, public relations

▪  Dutch Nave, Morris, Illinois, religious studies

▪  Lauren Reeves, O’Fallon, speech communication

Division of Science & Mathematics

▪  Alexandra Nash, Lebanon, biology

▪  Vincent Spradling, Columbia, environmental studies

▪  Stephanie Lake, St. Louis, mathematics

Division of Social Sciences

▪  Taylor Wright, New Baden, biopsychology

▪  Vincent Spradling, Columbia, global studies

▪  Katlyn Mohl, Fults, history

▪  Hannah Valbert, Granite City, history education

▪  Maximilian Aviles, San Bernardino, California, international relations

▪  McKenna Scaturro, Granite City, political science

▪  Brandon Nabors, Mt. Vernon, psychology

▪  Mae Wells, St. Jacob, psychology

▪  Kennon Henderson, Allen, Texas, sociology

▪  Diana Nevarez Ramirez, El Paso, Texas, sociology

External Programs

▪  DeAnna Wong, Navarre, Florida, psychology

Division of Visual and Performing Arts

▪  Christopher Smith, Granite City, music education

School of Business

▪  Valerie Lukens, Trenton, The School of Business Outstanding Student of the Year

▪  Monica Stein, O’Fallon, accounting

▪  Shannon Docherty, Mt. Vernon, business administration

▪  Jeffrey Jacober, Trenton, economics and finance

▪  Elizabeth Dykstra, McLeansboro, marketing

▪  Kayti Rose, South Roxana, sport management

Center at Scott Air Force Base

▪  Kyle Brink, Centralia, accounting

▪  Keenan Dickens, Scott Air Force Base, business administration

▪  Stephanie Kornett, O’Fallon, management

External Programs

▪  Janell Straeter, Highland, business administration

▪  Pamela Eversgerd, Germantown, management

▪  Lyndon Forby, Carterville, marketing

Master of Business Administration

▪  John Flick, Caseyville, business administration

▪  Kimberly Potter, Maryville, business administration

School of Education

▪  Acadia Reynolds, New Orleans, elementary education

Master of Arts in Education

▪  Rachel Forby, Goreville, educational administration and leadership

▪  Melissa Meyer, Ellis Grove, educational administration and leadership

▪  Victoria Taylor, Smithton, educational studies — reading

▪  JoAnna Espique, Lebanon, special education

▪  Melissa Stewart, O’Fallon, teacher leadership

School of Nursing and Health Professions

▪  Chloe Knight, Las Vegas, athletic training

▪  Chelsey Henrichs, Breese, exercise science and sports performance

▪  Giuseppe Fiduccia, Hanover Park, Illinois, physical education K-12

Master of Arts

▪  Zane Maus, Lebanon, professional counseling

Division of Nursing

▪  Brittany Davis, East Alton, nursing

▪  Meghan Shackleton, De Soto, nursing

Master of Science in Nursing

▪  Jamie Billups, Fairview Heights, nursing education

▪  Ann Hanson, Godfrey, nursing management/administration

Honors Program

▪  Maximilian Aviles, San Bernardino, California

▪  Natalie Correll, Danvers

▪  Jackson MacLean, Lincoln, Nebraska

▪  Holly Magre, Festus, Missouri

▪  Sarah Mueller, Chester

▪  Brandon Nabors, Mt. Vernon

▪  McKenna Scaturro, Granite City

▪  Mae Wells, St. Jacob

Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges

▪  Lucendia Adams, Dahlgren

▪  Danté Anglin, O’Fallon

▪  Cheyenne Autry, Breese

▪  Allison Donofrio, Carrier Mills

▪  Rachel Ford, Trenton

▪  Kennon Henderson, Allen, Texas

▪  Rachel Kaltwasser, Belleville

▪  Stephanie Lake, St. Louis

▪  Brandon Nabors, Mt. Vernon

▪  Rebecca Nauman, Yorkville

▪  Gregory Ortiz, Granite City

▪  Kaitlin Pennington, Creal Springs

▪  Megan Porter, Gifford

▪  Bailey Rhoades, St. Charles, Missouri

▪  Robert Watkins, LaGrange

Newman Civic Fellow Award

▪  Jessica Lirios, Greenville, Illinois

Lincoln Laureate Award

▪  Acadia Reynolds, New Orleans

Jamie Forsythe: 618-239-2562, @BND_JForsythe

Related stories from Belleville News-Democrat