Belleville District 118 appoints three administrators

Two of the three administrators appointed to new positions within Belleville District 118 by the board of education Tuesday night are already well-known to the district.

The board of education appointed Jon Boente as director of buildings and grounds and principal at Franklin School, Jamie Buss as principal at Henry Raab and Washington schools and Gustavo Cotto as principal at West Junior High School. The appointments take effect next school year.

Boente is the current principal at West Junior High. Buss is the current administrative intern at Abraham Lincoln and Westhaven schools. Cotto is an administrator at the Estelle Sauget School of Choice in the Cahokia school district.

The board also appointed a psychology intern and a custodial staffer. Superintendent Matt Klosterman said the five appointees were “quality people.”

“We’re always excited when we can bring new people into the (District 118) family,” Klosterman said. “It’s always exciting when you have quality people who have the chance to better their careers.”

In other action, the board opened the door for the use of a line of credit to ease possible cash flow problems at the end of this fiscal year.

Ryan Boike, the assistant superintendent for finance, said the district will likely not need the $4 million loan that’s repaid by future property tax collection, but said the district needs to have access to the emergency cash just in case.

“Because of the uncertainty at the state level with funding, we need to make sure we put a process in place so that if there is the problem with cash flow, we have an avenue to access the money,” Boike said.

The board also heard a presentation from Jefferson School Principal Jamey McCloskey. He told the board the school was eager to welcome students from Ferguson, Mo., to Jefferson on the last day of school. The Ferguson students are taking a field trip to Belleville to meet the pen pals they’ve swapped letters with this school year.