20th Judicial Circuit judge primary election results

Katherine Ruocco and B. Marshall Hilmes
Katherine Ruocco and B. Marshall Hilmes

Here are the unofficial results for the Republican nomination for circuit judge of the 20th Judicial Circuit:

All 339 precincts have reported.

Katherine Ruocco (R-Swansea): 10,610 votes

B. Marshall Hilmes (R-Marissa): 6,922 votes

The 20th Judicial Circuit includes Monroe, Perry, Randolph, St. Clair and Washington counties. Circuit judges are elected for six years and may be retained by voters for additional six-year terms.

The winner of the Nov. 6 General Election will fill the vacancy of Judge Jan V. Fiss, who was retained in 2012 for a six-year term and announced he would not seek retention in the 2018 elections.

The winning nominee is expected to face Democratic candidate Heinz Rudolf, a current Associate Judge in St. Clair County, in the General Election.