Boys Basketball

High school basketball all-star game set for Saturday at Alton High

O’Fallon High senior standout Donovan Franklin and some of the top senior basketball players from the metro-east along with central and Southern Illinois all-stars will take on a Missouri all-star team at 7 p.m. Saturday at Alton High School

There also will be a slam dunk and 3-point shooting contest before the game. Tickets are $5 and available at the door.

“There’s a lot of athleticism and a lot of skill,” said Terrell Ramey of, one of the event organizers. “This year the key words are a lot of skill players. There’s some good size as well. We just want to put on a good sendoff for these guys.”

The 6-foot-5 Franklin averaged over 20 points for O’Fallon, but has not yet signed with a college.

“He’s a good player,” Ramey said. “He’s definitely one of the top unsigned guys around, if not the top guy.”

Among the college recruits on the Illinois squad scheduled to play include Iowa recruit Christian Williams from Decatur St. Teresa, Alton’s Carlos Anderson (Southern Illinois University Edwardsville) and Darrius Edwards (Southwestern Illinois College), Civic Memorial’s Jakob Lowrance (Central Missouri), Chatham Glenwood’s Cole Harper (Minnesota State), Marion’s Robby Dosier (Southeast Missouri) and Harrisburg’s Bahari Amaya (Illinois-Springfield).

Illinois roster: Eugene Jones (Belleville West); Donovan Franklin (O’Fallon); Darien McClain (O’Fallon); Carlos Anderson (Alton); Darrius Edwards (Alton); Jakob Lowrance (Civic Memorial); Gavin Block (Lincoln); Cole Harper (Chatham Glenwood); Allen Billinger (Carbondale); Bahari Amaya (Harrisburg); Dylan Miller (Hillsboro); Christian Williams (Decatur St. Teresa); Mo Jackson (Carbondale).

Missouri roster: Lee Bogan (Jennings); Chase Morfeld (St. Charles; Lincoln U.); Casey Teson (St. Charles; Eastern Illinois; Logan Gonce (St. Charles West; Illinois-Springfield); Jahmouri Robinson (Cardinal Ritter); Preston Whitfield (Fort Zumwalt South); Marshawn Blackman (Fort Zumwalt South; Eastern Illinois); Alex Floresca (Webster Groves; San Diego); Stephen Harris (Webster Groves); Zach Steinberg (Lafayette; Illinois-Springfield); Kenny Leslie (CBC; Northern Colorado); Ralph Bellamy (Clayton).