Cheap Seats

Brewers to host Cardinals in 1913 turn back the clock game

The Milwaukee Brewers on Sunday will host the Cardinals in a turn back the clock day game.

Both teams will wear uniforms representative of the 1913 season.

What's the significance? The Brewers, in their current form, weren't established until 1969.

Well, back in 1902 the original American League Milwaukee Brewers moved to St. Louis where they were known as the St. Louis Browns until 1953. With the absence of Major League Baseball in town, Milwaukee entered a new team that adopted the Brewers name into the minor league American Association.

That minor league franchise lasted 50 years as an affiliate of the Browns, Chicago White Sox and Cubs, Cleveland Indians and Boston Braves. Its first American Association championship came in 1913. And that's the reason 1913 is being celebrated today.

The Braves' association with Milwaukee led to the demise of the American Association Brewers in 1954 when the parent club moved from Boston to Milwaukee. That relationship, however, would only last a little more than a decade as the major league club moved to Atlanta in time for the 1966 season. The American Association Brewers were moved to Toledo where they became known as the Mud Hens.

Happy Felsch, centerfielder for the infamous 1919 White Sox was a member of the 1913 American Association Brewers.

While Milwaukee doesn't have any Major League Baseball championships to celebrate, the 1913 Cardinals hadn't yet begun their National League best run of 11 World Series wins by that point in franchise history.

The first franchise superstar, Rogers Hornsby, was still a couple of seasons away. St. Louis' was led by player/manager and future Yankees Hall of Fame skipper Miller Huggins. The club finished dead last in the National League pennant chase with a 51-99 record, 49 games behind the New York Giants.