Highland News Leader

29 Highland High School students named Illinois State Scholars

Twenty-nine students from the Highland High School graduating class of 2016 have been recognized as Illinois State Scholars.

The Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC), the state agency committed to helping to make college accessible and affordable for Illinois families, bestows this prestigious recognition to top Illinois high school students annually. This year, nearly 19,000 elite honorees join the other top state students honored for their academic achievements since the designation was first introduced in 1958.

“It is always an honor to announce another extraordinary group of State Scholars,” said Eric Zarnikow, ISAC executive director. “At a time when post-secondary education could not be more important to future job and career success, these students have demonstrated the kind of effort and dedication that will help them advance not only their futures, but the future of the state as well. We wish each of them the best as they pursue their chosen educational path.”

Illinois State Scholars possess strong academic potential and are chosen based on a combination of exemplary ACT or SAT test scores and sixth semester class rank. State Scholars rank in approximately the top 10 percent of high school seniors, representing 652 high schools across the state.

“Highland High School is very proud of our Illinois State Scholars, and we congratulate each student and family for attaining this level of academic excellence. Education is a partnership and these students are a product of families and schools working together,” said HHS Principal Dr. Karen Gauen.

HHS Illinois State Scholars

The following Highland High School students were named 2016-17 Illinois State Scholars: Anna Abert, Elizabeth Arend, Mary Austin, Matthew Beyer, Austin Brown, Emily Canterberry, Blake Carroll, Emily Duncan, Emily Gutzler, Lily Happold, Audrey Kosydor, Cassandra Lamzik, Kelsey Lane, Abigail Metzler, Lucas Pena, Alexandra Plocher, John Pollard, Brode Portell, Tyler Reinhardt, Joseph Rittenhouse, McKenzie Rosen, Katherine Sikora, Jenna Spies, James Tscherney, Jordan VonBokel, Tanner Wetzel, Marissa Wheeler, Lauren Wright and Allison Zobrist.