Highland News Leader

Highland area organizations offer college scholarships

Highland IFBW

The Highland IFBW is a group of women with widely diverse backgrounds and ages who share a common goal of growth, promotion, and advancement for women. Membership is comprised of a wide range of occupations, from retired women to teachers, doctors, managers, small business owners, and of course, hard-working, stay-at-home moms. The club is active and visible in the community through fundraisers and various community oriented activities and events.

With advancement for women one of the organization’s focus issues, the club sponsors two different types of scholarships for women who will be furthering their education — one to a high school graduating senior and one to someone who has decided to return to school due to a change in their circumstances or status in order to advance her career. Applicants are currently being sought for both these scholarships.

Highland High School Scholarship: To be eligible for consideration for this $1,000 scholarship(s), applicants must be a 2016 female high school graduate and resident of the Highland School District who plans to attend any school (trade school, college, or university) as a full-time student in the fall of this year

Applications and guidelines for submittal are available at the Highland High School or Mater Dei High School Guidance Departments or from any Highland IFBW member. Deadline for application submittal is March 25.

Lucy E. Staley Scholarship: To be eligible for consideration for this $1,000 scholarship, applicants must be female, a high school graduate or equivalent, 20 years of age or older, with a permanent residence within a 25-mile radius of the City of Highland or an active member of Highland IFBW. Applicants must be officially enrolled in college and be carrying a minimum of eight (8) credit hours.

Applications are available at the Highland Chamber of Commerce, Louis Latzer Memorial Public Library, Highland Area Christian Services Ministry, SWIC, SIUE, McKendree University, or by contacting Lisa Sauer local scholarship chair, at 654-7402. Deadline for application submittal is March 25, 2016.

Madison-Bond Workforce Investment Board

The Madison-Bond Workforce Investment Board has announced the availability of scholarships for 2016 high school graduates entering Lewis & Clark Community College, Southwestern Illinois College or Kaskaskia College next fall. The scholarships are being offered through the Great River Workforce Development Corporation Inc., which has been sponsoring the community college scholarship program since 2007. To qualify for the scholarship, students must be residents of either Madison or Bond County.

“Due to the generosity of our sponsors, we will once again be able to award individual scholarships in the amount of $1,000,” said Jim Pennekamp, president of the Great River Workforce Development Corporation Inc.

“Funds for the scholarship are made available through contributions from local business, education, labor and government partners,” Pennekamp said, “and without their generosity and support, this opportunity to link education and workforce development would not be possible.”

Pennekamp added that all donors to the scholarship fund receive an ad in the Madison-Bond Workforce Investment Board’s Annual Report, which is distributed throughout the two-county area, and that all donations are tax deductible.

Last year, five $1,000 scholarships were awarded. Local sponsors included: Coldwell Banker Brown Realty, Gliks, Greater Madison County Federation of Labor, Juneau & Associates, Kaskaskia College, Lewis and Clark Community College, Madison County Community Development, Madison County Employment & Training, Madison County Regional Office of Education, Market Basket, Mortgage Makers, Phillips 66, SCF Lewis and Clark Marine, Southwestern Illinois Building & Construction Trades Council, Southwestern Illinois College, The Bank of Edwardsville, United States Steel-Granite City Works.

“Each year, we see an increase in the number of scholarship applications we receive,” said David Stoecklin, executive director of the Madison County Employment & Training Department, “and as more businesses become aware of this opportunity to assist young people meet their career goals, we hope to see an increase in the number of scholarships we are able to award.”

Madison-Bond Workforce Investment Board members selected the scholarship winners based on grade point averages, references, and essays that the students wrote about their career goals.

For more information on sponsoring or applying for the scholarship, contact Matt Jones at the Madison County Employment & Training Department, (618) 296-4315. The application deadline is June 10, 2016.

Anderson Hospital

Scholarship applications for students in/seeking healthcare professions are available from the Anderson Hospital Auxiliary, the medical staff and the State of Illinois. Applications are available at the Hospital Main Lobby Information desk or online at ww.andersonhospital.org/auxiliaryscholarships. Deadlines begin April 15, so act soon. If you have questions, contact Judy Eft at jgeft@yahoo.com.

Illinois Sheriffs’ Association

The Illinois Sheriffs’ Association announced that it will be awarding more than $54,000 in college scholarships throughout the state of Illinois to students wishing to pursue higher education during the 2015-16 academic year. The scholarships are to be applied to tuition, books and fees only. The student must be enrolled full-time at a certified institution of higher learning within the state of Illinois.

Sheriff John D. Lakin, Madison County, will be awarding one scholarship in the amount of $500.

There will be no restriction on any applicant by reason of race, age, creed, color, sex or national origin. The only limitations are as follows:

▪ applicants must be a permanent Illinois resident;

▪ scholarships must be utilized at institutions of higher learning within the state of Illinois▪ 

▪ students must be enrolled as a full-time student during the 2015-16 year (excluding the summer session);

Applications are now available at the Madison County Sheriff’s Office, 405 Randle St. in Edwardsville, between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m., Monday through Friday, or on the Internet at www.ilsheriff.org. Students must complete the application, answer the essay question and return all documentation to the sheriff’s office in their permanent county of residence by March 15.

For more information, contact your local sheriff’s office, high school advising center or college financial aid office.

Garland E. Whitworth Memorial

Presented by Southern Illinois Builders Association (SIBA) Safety & Crime Prevention Committee and Southern Illinois Construction Advancement Program (SICAP).

Scholarship is for $1,500. Initial requirements listed below. There are additional requirements to be fulfilled upon being chosen as a recipient. Previous recipients are eligible to re-apply.

In order to be eligible for these scholarships, students must:

▪ Write a short (1-2 page) paper on construction safety and submit to SIBA Safety and Crime Prevention Committee

▪ Have a minimum of a 2.5 / 4.0 grade point average (GPA) when applying for scholarship

▪ Have a full-time student status

▪ Be enrolled in a Construction Management program at Southwestern Illinois College, John A. Logan College, or Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

Contact SIBA at safetydept@siba-agc.org for more information if interested. Deadline to submit a paper is 4 p.m. on March 15 to the above listed email. All entries should be submitted in adobe pdf format in the following nomenclature (last name, first name-school name).