Scott Air Force Base News

Scott kicks off 2017 Combined Federal Campaign

After some delays at the national level due to changes in the program, Scott Air Force Base has officially launched the 2017 Combined Federal Campaign season.

The CFC normally kicks off in September and the campaign was set to end by Dec. 1; however the installation commander has authorized an extension through Jan. 12 to allow everyone an opportunity to contribute should they choose to do so. As part of the extension, requests for waivers to the “no other fundraising” prohibition may be made and will be approved as liberally as possible, to the extent they are authorized by Air Force policy and instruction.

The CFC is a government program that gives federal employees the opportunity to donate to nonprofit organizations at the local, national and international levels. Since 1961, the annual campaign has raised over $8.2 million for health and human services charities around the world. This year’s theme is Show Some Love.

I’m excited about all of the changes to the CFC. I believe we’ll have a successful campaign season, and I’m excited to see this campaign transition in the years to come.

Master Sgt. Amber Lane, the assistant CFC installation coordinator

Some of the changes this year include prohibiting cash donations such as through bake sales, silent auctions, book sales, etc., and instead ensuring events are focused on awareness. Retirees are eligible to contribute and there is no longer a limit to just offering monetary donations as volunteer opportunities are also available.

“You choose where you want your money—or time—to go,” said Maj. Robert Spriggel, CFC installation coordinator. “There are organizations for anything from homeless shelters to all the different types of cancer societies, HIV foundations and starvation foundations.”

The Scott community raised $551,089 in last year’s campaign. This year, the fund-raising goal is set at $400,000. Both civilian employees and military members are eligible to donate through the CFC website at http://cfcgiving.opm.gov/welcome.

Master Sgt. Amber Lane, the assistant CFC installation coordinator, said, “I’m excited about all of the changes to the CFC. I believe we’ll have a successful campaign season, and I’m excited to see this campaign transition in the years to come.”

Listed below are the various points of contact for the 2017 CFC.

INSTALLATION POCS

▪ Maj. Robert Spriggel: 256-6732; robert.spriggel.1@us.af.mil

▪ Master Sgt. Amber Lane: 256-6669; amber.lane@us.af.mil

375TH AIR MOBILITY WING

▪ Master Sgt. Melissa Laird: (618) 229-8458; melissa.laird.1@us.af.mil

AIR MOBILITY COMMAND

▪ Senior Master Sgt. Lashammia Kellam: (618) 229-2618; lashammia.kellam@us.af.mil

▪ Airman 1st Class Ethan Hernandez: (618) 229-4333; ethan.hernandez@us.af.mil

USTRANSCOM

▪ 1st Lt. James Graves: (618) 220-7373; james.t.graves24.mil@mail.mil

▪ IS2 Saquisha Woods: (618) 220-7195; saquisha.m.woods.mil@mail.mil

OTHER MISSION PARTNERS

▪ Master Sgt. Jolean Dedic: (618) 779-7202; jolean.dedic@us.af.mil

  Comments