Columbia, Marquette win Class 2A golf regionals

In a battle of conference champions it was the Columbia Eagles who had the final say on Tuesday at the Class 2A Waterloo Boys Golf Regional.

Columbia junior John Cygnarowicz fired a 77 and two teammates added rounds of 82 or better as the Cahokia Conference champion Eagles nipped Althoff for the team title at the very challenging Acorns Golf Course.

Andrew Wittenauer added an 81 for Columbia while Foster Gundlach shot a solid 82 for Columbia which finished with a 325 total and will join second place Althoff (331) and third place Mascoutah (332) at the West Frankfort Sectional on Oct. 13 at Franklin County Country Club.

Althoff, winner of the South Seven Conference title, was led by regional runnerup Matthew McCarthy who shot 73, one shot behind Jakob Eklund of Carterville, who shot 72. Dylan Davidson added an 85, while Michael Cook (86), Carson VonAlst (87) and Connor Eghigian (87) rounded out the Crusaders top four scores.

While Althoff coach Dab Polites said his team did not play up to its potential, he was happy and relieved the Crusaders have lived to fight or golf another day.

“The Acorns was playing tough today and we just didn’t play like I had hoped,” Polites said. “We are moving on though. That’s what counts.”

Mascoutah was led by a 75 from Matt Hatley and an 80 from Alex Gorman. Waterloo advanced four players — Ryan Stties (76), Avery Wheat and Matt Gaubatz (both at 87) and Colin Whelan (89).

Logan Kohrmann (89) and Kolby Schulte (89) of Central also moved on.

Class 2A Marquette Sectional

Marquette junior Michael Holtz shot a 1-over 71 and four teammates recorded rounds of 79 as the Explorers rolled to a 28-stroke win at Rolling Hills Golf Course on Tuesday.

Taking advantage of playing on its home course, Marquette finished with a a team score of 308, well ahead of both Greenville (336) and Highland (341). All three schools advance to the Class 2A Sectional on Oct. 13 at Franklin County Country Club.

The individual regional title is the second in a row for Holtz, who edged Gage Brauns (75) of Greenville for the title.

Third place Highland was led by Brode Portell’s 79 while Ben Brauns and Brandon Munie both shot rounds of 86.

Triad placed fourth with a score of 344, but the Knights will have four individual sectional qualifiers. Chris Lambert led the way for the Knights with a score of 84, followed by Danny Ratulowski (85), Cameron Lambert (87) and Nick Bryan (88) also advanced.

Class 1A Wesclin Regional

The Mater Dei Knights ‘G’ combination had their ‘A’ games working on all cylinders on Monday as they won the Class 1A Wesclin Regional at Governors Run Golf Course in Carlyle.

Junior Ben Gerdes won medalist honors with a 4-over par 76 while teammate Tyler Goebel added for Mater Dei which scored a 24-stroke win over Wesclin to take the team title.

Nic Hollenkamp added an 86 while Nick Mensing chipped in with an 87 for Mater Dei which finished with a score of 328 and will be one of three teams advancing to the Anna-Jonesboro Sectional on Monday at Union County Country Club.

Host Wesclin also earned a trip to Anna on Columbus Day with a score of 352 on Tuesday. Jake Mueller led the way with a 77, while Jordan Gronnert added an 84. Litchfield placed third in the team race with a 355 score to advance.

Local players advancing as individuals were Matthew Mannisi of O’Fallon First Baptist Academy (82) and Metro East Lutheran’s Jordan Brown (91) and Braden Woolsey (93).

Class 1A Pinckneyville Regional

Always in the trophy hunt at the Class 1A State Tournament, the Nashville Hornets took that first step towards a return trip to Prairie Vista Golf Club in Normal on Tuesday by winning the Class 1A Pinckneyville Regional at Red Hawk Golf Course.

Getting rounds of 73 from individual champion Riley Edwards and a 76 from senior Tyler Wall, the Hornets finished with a score of 327, nine strokes better than Chester (336) while Gibault and Sparta tied for the third spot with a 339 score. Sparta won the fitfh score tiebreaker to earn the third and final spot into the Anna-Jonesboro Sectional which will be played on Oct. 13 at Union Country Club.

Senior Andy Cunningham led Sparta with a 79.

While Gibault failed to qualify as a team, the Hawks will have three individuals at the sectional. Alex Dietz led the way for Gibault with a 76, while Zach Heet (80) and Jason Merz (85) akso moved on. Okawville equaled Gibault with three players — Mason Drury (77), Shane Ganz (84) and Brad Fuhrhop (85).

Advancing from Steeleville were Brock Quigley (82) and James Batson (86), while Red Bud’s Doiron Collin (85) and Jared Schneider (86) also earned trips to Anna

Dean Criddle: 618-239-2661, @CriddleDean