High School Sports

East St. Louis, Edwardsville renew their track rivalry at Moline Sectional

Deante Anderson is one of the Flyers that East St. Louis’ track team is counting on this postseason.
Deante Anderson is one of the Flyers that East St. Louis’ track team is counting on this postseason. znizami@bnd.com

Defending state champion East St. Louis Flyers and 2016 runners-up Edwardsville Tigers will be among the 17 teams competing at the Moline Class 3A Track and Field Sectional on Thursday.

The sectional, which also includes Southwestern Conference schools Belleville East, Belleville West, O’Fallon, Collinsville, Alton and Granite City, begins with field events at 2 p.m. Track competition begins at 3:30 p.m.

The top two place winners in each event and any others equaling state-qualifying times and distances in each sectional will advance to the state finals from May 26-27 in Charleston. The Moline sectional is one of four involving Class 1A, 2A and 3A metro east athletes on Thursday and Friday.

East St. Louis is led by Anderson brothers Delano and Deante in the sprints and hurdles as well as three of the top-ranked relay teams in the state in the 400-, 800- and 1,600-meter events.

Edwardsville is led by senior A.J. Epenesa (discus and shot put), Travis Anderson (110 and 300 meter hurdles) and Devante’ Tincher (long jump and 200 meters). The Tigers also have competitive teams in the 400-, 800- and 1,600-meter relays.

Other metro-east athletes competing in Moline include Ricky Berry, of Belleville West (110 and 300 meter hurdles); Chris Conrad, of O’Fallon (800 meters); and Andew O’Keefe (1,600 and 3,200 meters) and Torrey Deal (high jump and triple jump) and Jemarrion Stewart of Collinsville (100 and 200 meters).

Edwardsville’s Travis Anderson could qualify for the IHSA 3A Track and Field finals in both the 110- and 300-meter hurdles. Special to the News-Democrat Chris Johns

Class 1A Sectionals

Marquette, Madison and Metro East Lutheran are competing in the Carlinville Sectional, that begins at 4 p.m. Thursday. The Sparta Sectional, which includes Althoff, Mater Dei, Dupo, Lebanon, Nashville, New Athens, Red Bud, Nashville, OKawville, Sparta, Valmeyer, Wesclin and Gibault, begins at 4 p.m. Friday.

Dean Criddle: 618-239-2661, @CriddleDean