Girls Basketball

Edwardsville, Civic Memorial girls named to IBCA all-state basketball teams

The regular season honors keep mounting for Edwardsville seniors Kate Martin and Rachel Pranger, who have been named first-team all-state selections for Class 3A-4A by the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association.

The announcement came Friday in conjunction with the IHSA state girls basketball tournaments at Redbird Arena.

Named as first-team selections on the Illinois Associated Press all-state team early in the week, Martin and Pranger are joined by teammates Myriah Noodel-Haywood, who was a third-team selection, and Quierra Love, who was a fourth-team pick.

Civic Memorial also had four members selected to all-state teams. Senior Kaylee Eaton leads the way for the Eagles and was a fourth-team selection. Teammates Alaira Tyus, Anna Hall and Kourtland Tyus were all honorable mentions.

Belleville East juniors B'Aunce Carter and Kaylah Rainey were also honored. Carter was a third-team selection, while Rainey was named to the fourth team.

Other players chosen were Central senior Faye Meissner and O'Fallon senior Sydney Thurwalker, who were both third-team picks. Jerseyville freshman Clare Breden was an honorable mention.