St. Louis Cardinals

Former Cardinals Edmonds, Eckstein, McGwire exit Hall of Fame ballot

Former St. Louis Cardinals center fielder Jim Edmonds on Wednesday failed to secure 5 percent of the Hall of Fame votes and was dropped from future consideration by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Edmonds, in his first year of eligibility, played eight years for the Cardinals (2000-07) and batted .285 with 241 home runs and 741 RBIs while winning six Rawlings Gold Glove Awards. He received just 11 votes, or 2.5 percent of the 440 votes that were cast.

Any player who does not receive 5 percent of the votes is dropped from future consideration by the BBWAA.

Former Cardinals right fielder Larry Walker received 68 votes (15.5 percent) and will remain on the ballot in 2017. Another former Cardinal, shortstop David Eckstein, received two votes (0.5 percent) and also was dropped from the ballot.

Former Cardinals closer Lee Smith received 150 votes (34.1 percent) and has one remaining year of eligibility on the ballot. Mark McGwire landed 54 votes (12.3 percent) and fell off the ballot after 10 years of eligibility.

Hall of Fame voters elected center fielder Ken Griffey and catcher Mike Piazza. Griffey received a record 437 votes (99.3 percent), while Piazza received 365 votes (83 percent).

Jeff Bagwell, a first baseman for the Houston Astros, fell 15 votes shy of election. Outfielder Tim Raines, who played for six teams, finished with 307 votes, 23 votes fewer than needed.

David Wilhelm: 618-239-2665, @DavidMWilhelm

David Wilhelm, Joe Ostermeier and Warren Mayes of the Belleville News-Democrat participated in the Hall of Fame voting. Following are their ballots:

WILHELM: Jeff Bagwell, Ken Griffey Jr., Trevor Hoffman, Fred McGriff, Mike Mussina, Mike Piazza, Tim Raines, Lee Smith, Billy Wagner.

OSTERMEIER: Jeff Bagwell, Jim Edmonds, Ken Griffey Jr., Trevor Hoffman, Edgar Martinez, Mike Piazza, Tim Raines, Lee Smith, Alan Trammell, Larry Walker.

MAYES: Jeff Bagwell, Ken Griffey Jr., Trevor Hoffman, Jeff Kent, Edgar Martinez, Tim Raines, Curt Schilling, Lee Smith, Alan Trammell, Billy Wagner.