Highland News Leader

The 2018 track champions have been crowned at the Highland Speedway

The 2018 track champions were crowned Saturday night, August 18, at the Highland Speedway. All four divisions saw Highland residents win the titles at their home track, with two first time winners and two that have accumulated multiple titles.

In the “B Wet Solutions” Late Models, Chad Zobrist wheeled his 78 to victory, clinching his 9th championship, just 15 points in front of Shannon Kuhn of Highland, who led the standings much of the season. Mulberry Grove’s Adam Tischauser was third in the final standings.

The Steve Schmitt Modified feature saw Zach Schantz of Highland pick up his first win in the division, besting Zeb Moake of Freeburg and Tyler Diebert of Highland. Highland’s Shaun Horstman edged out Diebert in the season’s points chase, picking up his first track championship.

Billy Knebel of Pocahontas won the Miller Lite B-Modified feature, while second place clinched the overall track championship for Jimmy Cummins of Highland, his first. Brett Eilermann of Highland was second in the final tally, and Troy’s Doug Tye was third.

The winner of the Woodcrest Small Engine Street Stock feature was last year’s track champion Dustin McClintock of Marissa. He finished second in the points to Trevor Issak of Highland, who now has three titles under his belt. Eric Harris of St. Jacob was third in both the race and the points.

After taking a couple of weeks off, the season will wrap up with special events on September 8 and 15.

Related stories from Belleville News-Democrat